Miss Megan’s Five Star Favorites, Part II

I love middle grade, but more often than not I find myself gravitating to the Young Adult section. There are just such fantastic choices available over there these days! Here are some of my all-time favorites.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryPenguin; 4.99; Ages 10-adult

Opening line: “Mrs. Rachel Lynde lived just where the Avonlea main road dipped down into a little hollow, fringed with alders and ladies’ eardrops and traversed by a brook that had its source away back in the woods of the old Cuthbert place.”

For fans of: Daddy Long Legs; Betsy-Tacy

Jepp, Who Defied the Stars by Katherine MarshHyperion; 16.99; Ages 12-adult

Opening line: “Being a court dwarf is no easy task. I know because I failed at it.”

For fans of: The Astonishing Life of Octavian NothingDavid Copperfield

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth WeinHyperion; 16.99; Ages 14-adult

Opening line:  “I AM A COWARD I wanted to be heroic and I pretended I was. I have always been good at pretending.”

For fans of: I Capture the Castle; Flygirl

Chime by Franny BillingsleyPenguin; 8.99; Ages 14-adult

Opening line: “I’ve confessed to everything and I’d like to be hanged. Now, if you please.”

For fans of: The DivinersFinnikin of the Rock 

The Book Thief by Markus ZusakKnopf (Random House); 12.99; Ages 14-adult

Opening line: “First the colors. Then the humans. That’s usually how I see things. Or at least, how I try.”

For fans of: Milkweed; I Am the Messenger

I Capture the Castle by Dodie SmithSt. Martin’s; 14.99; Ages 14-adult

Opening line: “I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.”

For fans of: A Brief History of MontmarayJane Austen

We try to always have copies of these books on our shelves! Come by and check them out sometime!

Read on, readers!

Miss Megan

Leave a Reply

