Calling all dystopian lovers!

With the release of The Hunger Games movie, people are flocking to the dystopian genre more than ever, wanting read-alikes to Suzanne Collins’ famous book series.  Booksellers LOVE this phenomenon. We love when adults and teens are both clamoring for the same books, proving that YA really is not just for the 14-18 age bracket.

 A new release, Starters,  tells the story of Callie, a girl living in the future where a virus has killed everyone that had not been vaccinated against it. Callie has no parents and no grandparents to help her, so she is responsible for taking care of her little brother…living on the run, trying to survive against a government that doesn’t want her to. She has no money and no food. Solution to this? Rent out her body to an elderly person. Crazy, right?

Callie is promised a lot of money for only a few days of her life and no ill effects. Well, we all know how that turns out…

Yes, it’s dystopian, and no, it’s not as weird as it sounds. This plot MOVES. I turned pages like crazy, wanting to know what happened to Callie and her family and the crazy Old Man who runs the company in charge of renting out the teen bodies. The characters are all well developed and the drama for which dystopian books are known is definitely there.

Reminiscent of Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, James Dashner’s The Maze Runner, and Veronica Roth’s DivergentStarters has a bit of a cyberpunk vibe and the suspense factor is excellent. If you’re fan of any of these fast paced thrillers, you need to check out Starters!
Starters by Lissa Price; $17.99; Delacorte Press; Ages 14+
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s