Jaz’s Pick of the Day 5-20-9

while you are awayWhile You Are Away, by Eileen Spinelli, illustrated by Renee Graef

I almost cried when I read this book.  My mother was in the Army for 12 years and she was deployed many times during her service.  This book follows three children who each have a parent that is away serving in the military.  “While you are on that big ship, Daddy, far far away, I miss you… While you are flying that fast plane, Mommy, far far away, I miss you… While you are driving that speedy jeep, Papa, far far away, I remember what you told me…”  Each child expresses what they miss about their parent, but they also talk about the things that they do to help deal with the pain: sending packages in the mail, wearing your parent’s old sweater, dancing with their pillow.

I think that this would be a great gift for the upcoming holidays like Memorial Day and Father’s Day.  It is very patriotic and full of flags, stars and stripes, and the colors of America.  There is a brown, white, and tan family.  For ages 2 and up!

While You Are Away, by Eileen Spinelli, Hyperion Books for Children, $5.99

Leave a Reply

